Dr. Jim Pomatter
So… What seems to be the problem?

Jenna Hunterson
Well, I seem to be pregnant.

Dr. Jim Pomatter
Good. Good for you. Congratulations.

Jenna Hunterson
Thanks, but I don’t want this baby.

Dr. Jim Pomatter
Oh, well, we don’t perform… uh…

Jenna Hunterson
No, I’m keeping it, I’m just telling you I’m not so happy about it, like everybody else might be. So maybe you can be sensitive and not congratulate me and make a big deal every time you see me. I’m having the baby, and that’s that. It’s not a party, though.

Dr. Jim Pomatter
Got it, okay, not a party.

Waitress tells the story a Jenna, a young pie-making genius working as a waitress in a pie diner and stuck in a terrible marriage. She finds her plans to escape from her deadbeat husband thwarted by the discovery that she is pregnant with his child.

Needless to say (perhaps), this was an awkward movie choice for me to pop into the DVD while chilling with my boyfriend mere days after I’d reluctantly decided to become a mother. I warned him it was an awkward choice. But it was Pi Day! I can’t let a Pi Day go by without watching Waitress, since it is one of my favorite movies. I watched it all of the time when I first moved to Cincy and it fueled my obsession with making pies.

I fell asleep during the movie as I tend to do right now but it was less troubling to watch than I thought. My boyfriend even enjoyed it. The important thing I gleaned from the experience was that no matter how miserable my pregnancy might be (semi-spoiler alert!) it will all be worth it when I look into my little pipsqueak’s eyes for the first time. (Assuming the kid has eyes. I’m already at that phase of imagining any and everything that can go wrong with the kid.)

