I hope you paid attention to the first part of that clip because that is me. No, that isn’t me in the movie but that is me at least once a week explaining to someone that I still have 3 months to go before I have this baby. “You look like you’re ready to pop!” “You’re only 6 months?!” These are not things a woman wants to hear when she knows she still has a good 10+ pounds of baby weight to gain with most of it being in her belly. (That being said, the recommended weight gain during pregnancy is 25-35 lbs, as I am constantly being reminded by books, websites, random pieces of mail, etc. I have already gained over 40 lbs.)

BUT. About the movie. Away We Go is about a couple in their early thirties who are expecting their first child. With no jobs to tie them to their current home and with his parents about to move to Europe (hers have passed away), they go on a journey to look at different places where they might settle down to start their new family. The movie never really comfortably settles on a tone. It is a heartfelt-comedy. Most of the film is light-hearted but it’s difficult to laugh at the chuckle-worthy moments when they are punctuated by numerous serious issues such as parental abandonment, miscarriage, death, and the prevalent fear of loss and abandonment.

Despite all of that, the real star of the movie is Maggie Gyllenhaal who appears in just a few scenes as a beyond stereotypical Earth-mother caricature. There are no words for how ridiculously over-the-top her character is (she refuses to use strollers – “I love my children. Why would I want to push them away from me?!”, makes frequent judgemental remarks about any parenting decisions contrary to her own, has sex with her husband in front of her children, etc.). But Maggie plays the character straight, showing excellent comedic timing and bearing very little insult to those who do have an alternative view of parenting.

